Maybe not directly, but TagWorld is indirectly spamming. I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I’ve gotten at least 20 emails over the last few months exactly like this:
**********
You have been invited to join TagWorld! Click here to connect!http://denedia.freeimagine.com/CTFV13960_2/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htm
Some of the things you can do on TagWorld include creating your own website or blog, storing and sharing pictures, connecting with your friends, and meeting new people. You can also browse through member pictures, customize your site, and look at posts, pictures, and sites related to your interests.
http://denedia.freeimagine.com/CTFV13960_2/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htm
It’s a lot of fun and highly addictive – you’d be surprised how many people you probably know on here.
Looking forward to seeing you on TagWorld!
**********
TagWorld.com 825 Wilshire Blvd. # 229, Santa Monica, CA 90401 USA
Unsubscribe: http://denedia.freeimagine.com/ATFV13960_3/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htmIf you prefer not to receive e-promo’s from us in the future, please visit: http://denedia.freeimagine.com/UTFV13960/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htm
Your receipt of our e-mails is subject to our Privacy Policy.
http://denedia.freeimagine.com
If you would like to write us regarding any questions:
********
M e m o r i a l P l a c e C e n t e r
7 6 3 3 E 6 3 r d P L
S T E 3 0 0
T u l s a , O K 7 4 1 3 3 – 1 2 0 2
9 1 8 . 3 9 8 . 8 0 1 7
I did some whois research and Google searches and couldn’t really find any direct relation or connection between TagWorld and freeimagine.com or Memorial Place Center. TagWorld is in Santa Monica, CA while this company appears to be in Tulsa, OK. A search on any of the contents of this message though brings up lots of instances of this same message showing up on various web pages.
I really don’t want to click the link to find out what happens, but I assume you start the signup process for TagWorld. Since Tagworld doesn’t charge users to sign up, it doesn’t really seem like a direct affiliate relationship. Perhaps TagWorld is just paying this company per user signup. I find it hard to believe that TagWorld is not compensating this company somehow, or is not somehow related to it. If I’m wrong, why would this company be spamming for TagWorld signups?
TagWorld has to know about this spam by now. Since it hasn’t stopped over the past few months, they either condone it or are behind it. That’s really unacceptable for a “Web 2.0″ company to be doing this, and it puts a very bad taste in my mouth.
Pingback: TagWorld Gets Funding » Conversion Rater