September 2, 2010

TagWorld Is Spamming

Maybe not directly, but TagWorld is indirectly spamming. I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I’ve gotten at least 20 emails over the last few months exactly like this:

**********
You have been invited to join TagWorld! Click here to connect!

http://denedia.freeimagine.com/CTFV13960_2/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htm

Some of the things you can do on TagWorld include creating your own website or blog, storing and sharing pictures, connecting with your friends, and meeting new people. You can also browse through member pictures, customize your site, and look at posts, pictures, and sites related to your interests.

http://denedia.freeimagine.com/CTFV13960_2/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htm

It’s a lot of fun and highly addictive – you’d be surprised how many people you probably know on here.

Looking forward to seeing you on TagWorld!

**********

TagWorld.com 825 Wilshire Blvd. # 229, Santa Monica, CA 90401 USA
Unsubscribe: http://denedia.freeimagine.com/ATFV13960_3/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htm

If you prefer not to receive e-promo’s from us in the future, please visit: http://denedia.freeimagine.com/UTFV13960/6263/ydnherdtghtG/sdv/u.htm

Your receipt of our e-mails is subject to our Privacy Policy.

http://denedia.freeimagine.com

If you would like to write us regarding any questions:
********
M e m o r i a l P l a c e C e n t e r
7 6 3 3 E 6 3 r d P L
S T E 3 0 0
T u l s a , O K 7 4 1 3 3 – 1 2 0 2
9 1 8 . 3 9 8 . 8 0 1 7

I did some whois research and Google searches and couldn’t really find any direct relation or connection between TagWorld and freeimagine.com or Memorial Place Center. TagWorld is in Santa Monica, CA while this company appears to be in Tulsa, OK. A search on any of the contents of this message though brings up lots of instances of this same message showing up on various web pages.

I really don’t want to click the link to find out what happens, but I assume you start the signup process for TagWorld. Since Tagworld doesn’t charge users to sign up, it doesn’t really seem like a direct affiliate relationship. Perhaps TagWorld is just paying this company per user signup. I find it hard to believe that TagWorld is not compensating this company somehow, or is not somehow related to it. If I’m wrong, why would this company be spamming for TagWorld signups?

TagWorld has to know about this spam by now. Since it hasn’t stopped over the past few months, they either condone it or are behind it. That’s really unacceptable for a “Web 2.0″ company to be doing this, and it puts a very bad taste in my mouth.

Share:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • email
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Suggest to Techmeme via Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Comments

  1. tagworld says:

    Rumor has it that myspace is coming out with a better version of there site on another domain sometime in early march it will be another social networking community site with alot more features even then tagworld. I guess to stay ahead of other sites coming out like TagWorld.com also i heard it will be called http://www.FriendWise.com i guess well just have to see if FriendWise happens.

  2. josephr says:

    not very surprising they are spamming. the guys that started it came directly from the adware/spyware business. they sold their ad network co. and separate adware business that powered the network to kanoodle 2 years ago. very shady.

  3. friendsnest says:

    Rumor has it that http://www.friendsnest.com is coming out with a better version august 20th

  4. tina says:

    Josph, i should support you on that. also, they have been spamming other website. there is currently as law suit by the owner of http://www.holla.us.

Trackbacks

  1. [...] Techcrunch points out that TagWorld has received funding from Draper Fisher Jurvetson. While that may or may not be a good investment, I wonder how they feel about TagWorld spam? [...]

blog comments powered by Disqus
Web Analytics